Travelers from COVID-19 lower-risk States are not required to fill out the Massachusetts Travel Form and do not need to quarantine.

Effective October 17th at 12:01 a.m., the Department of Public Health metric for determining lower-risk states for the purposes of Massachusetts’ interstate travel policy will consider data over two weeks rather than one week before moving a state from lower risk to high risk. One week of data will remain the standard for moving states into the lower risk category. Additionally, the threshold of daily cases per 100,000 residents will now be 10 to bring Massachusetts’s standard more in line with other states. States will be included on the “lower-risk” list based on meeting two criteria: average daily cases per 100K below 10 AND positive test rate below 5%, both measured as a 7-day rolling average.  Data is from as of October 14, 2020.

The current list of COVID-19 lower-risk states includes:

  • California
  • Connecticut
  • District of Columbia
  • Hawaii
  • Maine
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New York
  • Vermont
  • Washington

Find daily updates on Massachusetts’ travel regulations and guidance.