The Mass Department of Public Health added four more states to its list of lower-risk states that are exempt from the restrictions in Governor Charlie Baker’s travel order, bringing the total number of lower-risk states to ten.

Starting Saturday, August 29, 2020, travelers entering Massachusetts from Pennsylvania, Delaware, West Virginia and Colorado are no longer required to quarantine for 14 days upon arrival or produce a negative COVID-19 test upon arrival.

Rhode Island remains the only state in New England on which Massachusetts imposes travel restrictions, although the quarantine-or-test requirement does not apply to those commuting for work or errands or individuals who pass through Rhode Island while traveling from a lower-risk state.

The current list of COVID-19 lower-risk states includes:

  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • Maine
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New York
  • Pennsylvania
  • Vermont
  • West Virginia

Travelers from COVID-19 lower-risk States are not required to fill out the Massachusetts Travel Form and do not need to quarantine. States are included on the list based on meeting two criteria: average daily cases per 100K below 6 AND positive test rate below 5%, both measured as a 7-day rolling average.  Data is from as of August 28, 2020.